Home > Knowledgebase > Services > Automated Deployment for AIX, HP-UX, Solaris, Linux


Automated Deployment for AIX, HP-UX, Solaris, Linux




This article describes the processes and procedures associated with the customer interaction of the Site Ox Automated Deployment system. There are several items of which the customer needs to be aware and understand. They are as follows:

Lease Period: The Lease period is in 24 hour increments, and begins when the order is placed. So as an example, if a customer orders a one (1) day lease of an LPAR or VM at 9:00 AM on Monday, the lease period will end at 9:00 AM on Tuesday. Once the lease period ends, the status of the LPAR or VM is changed to "Suspended".

Lease Suspended: When the Lease Period ends, the LPAR or VM is placed in a "Suspended" state. The LPAR or VM still exists and the customerís data is still on the LPAR or VM. It has simply been turned off. The customer can renew this lease to reactivate the LPAR or VM. If the LPAR or VM is not renewed, it will be "Terminated" after a variable length "grace period" (see below).

Lease Termination: When the Lease Period ends, and the "Grace Period" expires, the LPAR or VM lease is terminated. Termination means the operating system, programs, applications, and data are erased, and become unrecoverable. The LPAR or VM is recycled, and its resources are made available for the next lease.

Lease Renewal: When an LPAR or VM is in a "Suspended" state, it can be renewed, by the customer, thru the "My Services" section of the Site Ox customer area (Click the "Details" button associated with each service, you will see a "Renew Server Lease" section). There you will be able to select the Time to Lease, Processors, and Memory. The current options, on the system before it expired, are pre-selected for you. So, if you wish to make any changes to your system, when it renews, you have that option. Once you have made your selections (or left the default options), click the "Renew Server Lease" button. Your renewal will then be added to your cart, allowing you to complete the checkout process. You will not be able to modify the AIX version or Storage, upon renewal.
Depending on the length of the original lease period, the renewal "Grace Period" is variable. During the "Grace Period" the customer can renew and reactivate their LPAR or VM with any and all changes, uploads, or modifications they made to the LPAR or VM.

Grace Period: The "Grace Period" is the amount of time between the "Suspended" date/time and the "Terminated" date/time. This is variable depending on the length of the original lease period. When an LPAR or VM is leased, the customer receives a support ticket containing the "Connection Information". Within this support ticket the "Grace Period" is specified, so the customer knows how much time they have to renew a lease between an LPAR or VM being suspended and terminated.

Rebooting your LPAR or VM: The customer may reboot their LPAR or VM anytime they wish, using the command line interface of the operating system, or by using the "Reboot Server" button in the "My Services" section of the Site Ox customer area (Click the "Details" button associated with each service, you will see a "Reboot Server" button). You must login to your Site Ox account, to use the "Reboot" feature.

Extending your Lease Period: The customer may extend the lease period anytime during the active lease. Once the lease expires and during the "Grace" period, the customer may "Renew" the lease and change the system resources such as CPU and Memory.
To Extend the Lease period, click the "Extend Server Lease" button in the "My Services" section of the Site Ox customer area (Click the "Details" button associated with each service, you will see a "Extend Lease" button). You must login to your Site Ox account, to use the "Extend Lease" feature.

Archive your System for Future Use: The customer may archive their leased system anytime during the active lease or during the "Grace" Period. Once a system is archived, it may be "Unarchived" at a future date so that all work is saved in it's current state. There is a Monthly charge associated with the "Archive" function. To Archive your System, click the "Archive Server" button in the "My Services" section of the Site Ox customer area (Click the "Details" button associated with each service, you will see an "Archive Server" button). You must login to your Site Ox account, to use the "Archive" feature.

Unarchive your Archived System: If a customer has an "Archived" system, they may unarchive that system anytime. The "Unarchived" system will have the same user and password information as was current when the system was "Archived". The customer must select the amount of time for the new lease period to associate with the "Unarchived" system, and make any desired changes to the system resources such as CPU and Memory. There will be a charge associated with the new lease period selected for the unarchived system.
To Unarchive an Archived System, click the "Unarchive Server" button in the "My Services" section of the Site Ox customer area (Click the "Details" button associated with each "Archived" service, you will see a "Unarchive Server" button). You must login to your Site Ox account, to use the "Unarchive" feature.

Was this answer helpful?

Add to Favorites Add to Favorites    Print this Article Print this Article

Also Read
Web Design Services (Views: 3027)
Network Ports (Views: 2853)
Disaster Recovery (Views: 4197)


Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | About Us | Contact Us